Progress has been made

Here are some things I’ve done in the past couple of months.

First, I decided that 1 1/2″ birch was to narrow and the machine wouldn’t go very far before it crashed and fell over or something. So I replaced it with 3″ poplar.

Most notably, however, I have replaced the old linear actuator system on the x-axis with this stepper and belt from an old scanner I found in the alley. I didn’t really want to do it at first because it’s a unipolar motor (6 wires) as opposed to a bipolar motor (4 wires) like the old motor. A unipolar motor can be turned into a bipolar motor simply by not using the two COMMON wires. I thought it would be a pain in the ass to find the Common wires as well as find the coil wires and group everything together correctly. Then I realized the Common wires were both Brown. So that was easy.

And as a bonus, the motor came with its own mounting bracket!

Here’s the other side of the belt-drive. Once again, it conveniently came with its own bracket and pulley.

That 3/16″ steel rod you see in the back will either be replaced by a 3/8″ aluminum rod in the future or have a partner right below it to stabilize the carriage.

Notice how far apart the y-axis bearings are. I expect this to be much more stable.

 

 

 

This is how the belt is fastened for right now. It will have to be temporary. It’s way to heavy.  I will also need a belt tensioner. I’m working on some ideas for that.

Belt tensioners on Thingiverse:

http://www.thingiverse.com/thing:10274

http://www.thingiverse.com/thing:10082

http://www.thingiverse.com/thing:12733

That’s it for now. I have to go to work.

Tags: , , , , ,

About teslasmoustache

I am an artist currently pursuing a degree in Fine Arts at a college in the Midwestern United States. My art is heavily influenced by technology and tech-culture. my (future) laser cutter is a work of art as well as a tool that will help me make more art in the future.

Leave a Reply

